What's Going on at NDWN


Nominations Sought for NDWN 2019 Woman of the Year

no ratings

Posted 4/23/19 (Tue)

Nominations Sought for NDWN 2019 Woman of the Year


The North Dakota Women’s Network (NDWN) is seeking nominations for its 2019 Woman of the Year. The Woman of the Year award is given to a North Dakota woman in acknowledgement of the contributions she has made to improve the lives of women in our state. Nominations are due May 15, 2019.

“We are excited to continue celebrating exemplary women in our state,” said NDWN Executive Director Kristie Wolff. “Nominees for the award should be women who have dedicated their time and talents to improving the lives of women in North Dakota.”

Nominees should demonstrate leadership or excellence in one or more of the following criteria:

  • Political advocacy for women: Inspiring women's political participation.
  • Economic self-sufficiency: Working to lift women and their families out of poverty, including closing the pay gap between women and men and implementing paid family leave policies.
  • Women’s health: Advocating for quality, affordable healthcare, rural healthcare access, eliminating food insecurity, etc.
  • Education: Supporting strong educational opportunities for women.
  • Reproductive Rights: Working to ensure reproductive healthcare is comprehensive and secure.
  • Safety: Addressing violence against women, especially through advocacy and prevention.
  • Equality: Working to eradicate discrimination in all forms.


A committee of the NDWN board of directors will choose the 2019 Woman of the Year from among the submitted nominations. Board members, staff, and their family are not eligible for the award. More information and nomination form can be found at the link below, or by contacting Kristie at kristie@ndwomen.org or 701-712-9600. 


The winner will be honored in the fall of 2019 at the North Dakota Women’s Network’s Annual Meeting. 


Previous NDWN Woman of the Year recipients include Karen Ehrens (2018), Kathy Hogan (2017), Kathy Fick (2016), Dina Butcher (2015), Kylie Oversen (2014), Karla Rose Hanson (2013), Connie Hildebrand (2012), Judy DeMers (2011), Cheryl Bergian (2010), Nancy Johnson (2009), Bonnie Palecek (2008), and Ellen Chaffee (2007).


2019 nomination form can be found here