What's Going on at NDWN


NDWN Seeks 2021 Woman of the Year Nominations

no ratings

Posted 5/10/21 (Mon)

The North Dakota Women’s Network (NDWN) is seeking nominations for its 2021 Woman of the Year. The Woman of the Year award is given to a North Dakota woman in acknowledgement of the contributions she has made to improve the lives of women in our state. Nominations are due May 24, 2021.


Nominees should demonstrate leadership or excellence in one or more of the following criteria:

  • Economic fairness and security: Working to lift women and their families out of poverty, including closing the pay gap between women and men and implementing paid family leave policies.
  • Healthcare equity: Advocating for quality, affordable healthcare, rural healthcare access, and access to behavioral health services; eliminating food insecurity; ensuring comprehensive and secure reproductive healthcare, etc.
  • Safety: Addressing violence against women in their homes, schools, workplaces, and communities, especially through advocacy and prevention.
  • Equality: Working to eradicate discrimination in all forms.

Each nomination will be scored based on how closely it aligns with the above criteria, sustainability, impact, and the longevity of the work.

A committee of the NDWN board of directors will choose the 2021 Woman of the Year from the submitted nominations. NDWN board members, staff, and their family are not eligible for the award.

In the fall of 2021, the Woman of the Year will be the honored guest at our Annual Meeting banquet, where she will be presented the award.

Previous NDWN Woman of the Year recipients include Susan Wefald (2020), Ruth Buffalo (2019), Karen Ehrens (2018), Kathy Hogan (2017), Kathy Fick (2016), Dina Butcher (2015), Kylie Oversen (2014), Karla Rose Hanson (2013), Connie Hildebrand (2012), Judy DeMers (2011), Cheryl Bergian (2010), Nancy Johnson (2009), Bonnie Palecek (2008), and Ellen Chaffee (2007)

Complete online nomination form.

Download a printable nomination form.